Fellows of the AIIA

In 2008, the Australian Institute of International Affairs launched a Fellows program to recognise exceptional contributions to Australia’s international relations.

The overriding criterion for selection was a very high level of distinction in and distinguished contribution to Australia’s international relations. Nominations received were assessed in confidence by a selection committee made up of members of AIIA’s National Executive and, once appointed, existing Fellows.


Fellows 2008

Dr Coral Bell AO

The Hon Gareth Evans AC QC

Dr Stephen FitzGerald

Mr Hamish McDonald

Dr Robert O’Neill AO

Lieutenant General John Sanderson AC

Mr James Wolfensohn KBE AO

Mr Richard Woolcott AC email


Fellows 2009

Professor Hilary Charlesworth

Professor Jocelyn Chey AM

Professor Peter Edwards AM

The Hon Elizabeth Evatt AC

Mr Owen Harries

Mr John McCarthy AO

Emeritus Professor Nancy Viviani AO

Mr Denis Warner OBE


Fellows 2010

Professor Bruce Grant

Mr Allan Gyngell AO

Professor Helen Hughes AO

Dr Janet Hunt

Mr James Ingram AO email

Mr Baillieu Myer AC

Mr Ric Smith AO PSM


Fellows 2011  

Mr Graeme Dobell

Professor Peter Drysdale AM

Ms Joanna Hewitt AO

The Hon Professor Robert Hill

Professor Neville Meaney

Ms Colleen Ryan

Professor Hugh White AO

Mr Garry Woodard


Fellows 2012

Professor Joan Beaumont

Mr Rowan Callick

Dr Francis Gurry

Professor Stuart Harris AO

Professor John Legge AO

Professor Wang Gungwu

Professor Samina Yasmeen AM


Fellows 2013

Professor James Cotton

Professor James Crawford AC

Professor Harold Crouch

Mr Rawdon Dalrymple AO

Ms Erika Feller

Mr Hugh Morgan AC

Mr Dennis Richardson AO

Mr Tony Walker


Fellows 2014

Professor Desmond Ball AO

Reverend Tim Costello AO

Mr Philip Flood AO

Ms Jenny McGregor

Mr Geoffrey Miller AO

Emeritus Prof Gillian Triggs


The AIIA accepts nominations for Fellows at any time. Nominations will be assessed in confidence once each year. If you wish to nominate a Fellow, please contact us.