Go back

Ministers for Foreign Affairs Series

Published 22 Nov 2018

Ministers For Foreign Affairs 1972-83

The Australian Institute of International Affairs (AIIA) is pleased to present the latest book in the Australian Ministers for Foreign Affairs series. In May 2016 the AIIA held a one-day forum to examine the achievements of Australia’s foreign ministers between 1972-83. This forum and publication is the third book in the AIIA’s Australian Ministers for Foreign Affairs series following on from Ministers for Foreign Affairs 1960-72 and R.G. Casey: Minister for External Affairs 1951-60.

This newest volume brings together Australia’s most eminent academics and experts in international relations, former senior diplomats and government officials to explore the major issues that confronted the four foreign ministers during the period of 1972-83.

The book has been edited by Melissa Conley Tyler and John Robbins.

A PDF version is also available for download.

Ministers for Foreign Affairs 1972-83.

A hardcopy of this volume is available for purchase from the AIIA National Office.

To order please fill out an order form or email

For more information, please email the National Office