

Australian Institute of International Affairs National Conference Foreign Policy for a Top 20 Nation

The Hyatt Hotel Canberra, Commonwealth Avenue, Yarralumla Monday 27 October 2014

Draft Program: Confirmed Speakers (as of 29/8)

Arrival 8.45-9.00

Australian Foreign Policy

The Hon Julie Bishop MP, Minister for Foreign Affairs

John McCarthy FAIIA, National President, Australian Institute of International Affairs

<u>Chair</u>: Zara Kimpton OAM, National Vice-President, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Morning Tea

Enhancing Australia's Prosperity

Michael Stutchbury, Editor in Chief, Australian Financial Review

Robert Milliner, B20 Sherpa and Senior Advisor, UBS

Mike Callaghan AM, Director, G20 Studies Centre, Lowy Institute for International Policy

Lunch

Strengthening Australia's Security

Rory Medcalf, Director, International Security Program, Lowy Institute

Peter Jennings PSM, Executive Director, Australian Strategic Policy Institute

Dr Tanya Ogilvie-White, Research Director, Centre for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament, Australian National University

Professor Alan Dupont, School of Social Sciences, UNSW

Chair: Professor Peter Edwards AM FAIIA

Afternoon Tea

Contributing to Global Issues

His Excellency Peter Woolcott, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations and to the Conference on Disarmament, Geneva

Emeritus Professor Gillian Triggs FAIIA, President, Australian Human Rights Commission

Professor Megan Davis, Director, Indigenous Law Centre, UNSW and Member of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues

Awards and Presentations

Fellows:

- Mr Geoffrey Miller AO FAIIA
- Emeritus Prof Gillian Triggs FAIIA
- Professor Desmond Ball AO FAIIA

Concluding Remarks

5.00-5.15

Melissa Conley Tyler, National Executive Director, Australian Institute of International Affairs

The Australian Institute of International Affairs gratefully acknowledges the support of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade for this event:

