Go back

Ministers for Foreign Affairs Series

Published 12 Jul 2017

Ministers For Foreign Affairs 1960-1972

The Australian Institute of International Affairs (AIIA) is pleased to present the second book in the Australian Ministers for Foreign Affairs series. In February 2013 the AIIA held a one-day forum to examine the achievements of Australia’s foreign ministers between 1960 and 1972. This forum and publication followed on from R.G Casey: Minister for External Affairs 1951-1960, and examined the next decade in Australian foreign policy.

This newest volume brings together Australia’s most eminent academics and experts in international relations, former senior diplomats and government officials to explore the major issues that confronted the seven foreign ministers during the period of 1960-1972.

The book has been edited by Melissa Conley Tyler, John Robbins and Adrian March.

A PDF version is also available for download.

Ministers for Foreign Affairs 1960-1972

A hardcopy of this volume is available for purchase from the AIIA National Office.

To order please fill out an order form or email to

For more information, please call the National Office on (02) 6282 2133 or email