Go back

Fellows of the AIIA 2019

Published 16 Dec 2019
John R Goodlad, AIIA for WA president, introduces the Hon Julie Bishop at the AIIA Fellow Presentation and Keynote Lecture on 28 October 2019.

To celebrate its 75th Anniversary as a national institution promoting interest in and understanding of international affairs, the Australian Institute of International Affairs (AIIA) launched a Fellows program in 2008 to recognise exceptional contributions to Australia’s international relations. The aim of this program is to acknowledge excellence in Australia’s international affairs community.

Nominations were assessed in confidence by a selection committee made up of members of the AIIA’s National Executive and existing Fellows of the AIIA. The criterion for selection was that the candidate has a strong connection to Australia and has achieved a very high level of distinction in, and made a distinguished contribution to, international affairs.

Once again in 2019, the AIIA sought nominations for Fellows from its 1,400 members and other experts in the field. The AIIA would like to extend its congratulations to the following people who have been selected as Fellows of the Australian Institute of International Affairs for 2019 (FAIIA):

  • Melissa H. Conley Tyler – for her distinguished contribution to track-two diplomacy, non-profit organisations, the community, research and publications and conflict resolution research.
  • Professor Stephen Cordner – for his distinguished commitment to mass casualty management, disaster victim identification and international forensic medical capacity development.
  • Michael Costello AO – for his distinguished contribution as a senior diplomat and public servant.
  • Sir Rod Eddington AO – for his distinguished commitment to international business, and leadership in the promotion of international affairs and bilateral relationships to numerous academics, political figures and executives.
  • Andrew Forrest AO – for his distinguished contribution to international business and philanthropy initiatives to engage with global issues, including a campaign to end modern slavery.
  • Professor Anthony Milner AM – For his distinguished commitment to history, education and research on Southeast Asia, particularly Malaysia and Indonesia, as well as regional relations.
  • Andrew Parker – for his distinguished contribution to international business and corporate awareness of Asian trade and investment.
  • Professor Shirley Scott – For her distinguished contribution to international law, research and publications, and education.

The AIIA values inclusion and welcomes nominations for Fellows diverse in age, gender, culture, life experience and ability at any time for ongoing consideration. AIIA members who wish to nominate a Fellow are encouraged to contact

More information at:

Media enquiries:

Natasha Eloise | Media and Communications Associate