Go back

Congratulations to the 2021 AIIA Fellows

Published 26 Oct 2021

Each year since 2008, the Australian Institute of International Affairs (AIIA) has recognised individuals “with a strong connection to Australia who have achieved a very high level of distinction in, and made a distinguished contribution to, international affairs” by making them fellows of the institute.

In 2021, the AIIA recognised the following individuals as fellows.

  • The Honourable Frances Adamson AC for her leadership of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.


  • Stan Grant for his commitment to international affairs journalism.


  • Dr Meg Gurry for her excellence in scholarship on Australia-India diplomatic relations.


  • Major General (retd) Duncan Edward Lewis AO DSC CSC for his leadership of the Australian security services.


  • Dr Heather Smith PSM for her role in advancing Australian diplomacy, particularly as Australia’s 2014 G20 Sherpa.


  • The Honourable Warwick Smith AO for his services to Australia’s international commerce and Australia-China relations.


  • Gary Quinlan AO for his services to diplomacy in the United Nations and in South East Asia.


  • Professor Jacqui True FASSA for her excellence in scholarship on international relations and gender, peace, and security.


Nominations for 2022 Fellowship awards are now open. Any member (including South Australian and Northern Territory subscribers) or fellow of the Australian Institute of International Affairs can nominate a candidate for this highly prestigious award. A list of those who have received an AIIA Fellowship is available here. Fellows will be decided by an independent committee appointed by the AIIA Board. Please nominate your candidate for an AIIA Fellowship by filling out this form. Nominations close on June 1, 2022.