Go back

Announcement: New Editors of the Australian Journal of International Affairs

Published 26 Mar 2018

We are very pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Ian Hall and Associate Professor Sara Davies as the new joint editorship team of Australian Journal of International Affairs (AJIA). Both prospective editors have established strong track records in their scholarship and policy engagement.

Sara Davies is ARC Future Fellow, Associate Professor of Government and International Relations at Griffith University, and Adjunct Associate Professor of Monash Gender Peace and Security, Monash University. She is the author or editor of 11 books and over 50 articles and chapters and has served on the AIIA Research Committee since 2014.

Ian Hall is Professor of International Relations at Griffith University and an Academic Fellow of the Australia India Institute. He is the author or editor of six books and more than 60 articles and chapters, including books with university presses and articles in journals such as Asian Survey, the European Journal of International Affairs, and International Affairs. He has also served on the editorial board of AJIA since 2010.

With this blend of experience and a fresh vision the editors will further AJIA’s reputation as the leading outlet for scholarship on the international affairs of Australia’s region and the wider Indo-Pacific.

The Research Committee of the Australian Institute of International Affairs would like to thank outgoing editor Professor Nick Bisley from Trobe University for his influential role editing the AJIA. There has been strong AJIA reader engagement and citation impact made under Nick Bisley’s editorship since his appointment in 2009. In 2017 the AJIA achieved its best ever figures of nearly 90,000 unique article downloads, the highest impact factor in the journal’s history of 0.859 and the journal is currently ranking in the top 50 journals of international affairs worldwide. The AIIA thanks Editor-in-Chief Nick Bisley, Managing Editor Caitlin Hamilton and the Editorial Board for their contribution to these achievements.